The Mundane That Matters

“Then came the day of Unleavened Bread, on which the Passover lamb had to be sacrificed.  So Jesus sent Peter and John, saying, ‘Go and prepare the Passover for us, that we may eat it.’…And they went and found it just as he had told them, and they prepared the Passover.”

– Luke 22:7-8, 13

“I don’t believe Christ simply glanced up, saw Peter and John, and decided they’d be as good a choice as anyone to prepare for the Passover.  Quite the contrary, this profound task was prepared in advance for them to do (Ephesians 2:10). It’s likely the two men may have wished someone else had been chosen for the tasks, some of which were usually assigned to women.  The Passover involved a fairly elaborate meal with a very specific setting.  They may have grumbled, as we often do.  Why?  Because we may have no idea as to the significance of the work God has called us to do.”

– Beth Moore

Guilty as charged.

Far too often I grumble, feeling like my daily mundane, thankless tasks are insignificant, unimportant, or just not very interesting.  Taking care of a home and raising kiddos often feels like a far cry from the limelight, far from fairy tale heroism or “world changing” material.  There are days when the depths of my heart craves something BIGGER.  Something more significant.  Something that really matters.

I wonder if Peter and John felt the same.  Preparing the Passover may have felt below them.  After all, these were the same guys who walked beside Jesus.  Who watched Him perform miracles.  Who were given power to heal the sick and cast out demons.  Who saw Jesus be transfigured on a mountain while He chatted with Moses and Elijah.  Who walked on water, for crying out loud!

Do a job that typically belonged to women or servants?  Serve their peers?  I wonder if they cringed when Jesus commanded it.  Though they knew the symbolism of the meal, I wonder if the preparations felt small, mundane, or insignificant.  I have a hunch that they really didn’t fully appreciate the job that Jesus had asked them to do.

But their mundane task involved preparing a highly symbolic meal.  And the most important part of the meal was the lamb.  Sure, Peter and John had some understanding that the detailed preparation of the lamb would soon be fulfilled in this Jesus that they had been following, but I wonder if they actually “got it” then.  Eventually they understood the great symbolism! Beth Moore points out that Peter and John are the only two of the twelve disciples that were later recorded referring to Jesus as The Lamb.

Christ’s ultimate goal in many work He assigns to us is to reveal Himself, either through or to us.  The tasks He assigned to them that day were used by the Holy Spirit to reveal to them the Lamb of God.  The images and remembrances were deeply engraved in John’s mind.  Many years later he was inspired to refer to Jesus as the Lamb at least 30 times in the Revelation. Beloved, the tasks God gives you are never trivial.  More than anything else, His desire is to reveal Himself to you and through you.”

– Beth Moore

To reveal Himself in you and through you.

Adam is away at an excellent conference today.  Worshipping with other believers.  Learning and growing in what it looks like to shepherd a church well.  My call to be home doing laundry and taking care of little boys today hardly feels as significant.

Ironically (or not so much), this is the quote Adam sent me this morning in a text…

“Your greatest contribution to the church may not be something you do, but someone you raise.”

– Andy Stanley

Maybe, like Peter and John, I need a little better understanding of the significance of my contribution.

And oh, Father, don’t let me forget it.

So, I’ll carry on my mundane tasks today.  And pray that God might reveal Himself to me and through me because of it.

I’ll scrub toilets and dirty clothes and stinky bottoms and remember the ultimate Servant bending low to wash some feet.

I’ll chop vegetables and try new recipes and set tables and remember the meal that preceded the salvation of mankind.

I’ll kiss my boys’ boo-boos and my husband’s lips and in doing so I’ll kiss the nail-scarred hands of Jesus.

I’ll read storybooks, rehearse homework, recite Scripture, and recount His love on their hearts.

I’ll get on my knees to give hugs and bubble baths and on my knees to do battle for their hearts in prayer.

I’ll sing lullabies in the dark and gratitude in my heart and beg the Lord of Creation to use my broken praise for His glory.

And I’ll choose today to be passionately insignificant in the mundane that really matters.  In what Jesus has asked me to do.

“Whatever work you do, work at it with all your heart, as to the Lord…”

– Colossians 3:23

You’re up all night with a screaming baby
You run all day at the speed of life
And every day you feel a little bit less
Like the beautiful woman you are

So you fall into bed when you run out of hours
And you wonder if anything worth doing got done
Oh, maybe you just don’t know
Or maybe you’ve forgotten

You, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time
Making history with every touch and every smile
Oh, you, you may not see it now
But I believe that time will tell
How you, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time

With every “I know you can do it”
Every tear that you kiss away
So many little things that seem to go unnoticed
They’re just like the drops of rain over time
They become a river

And you, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time
Making history with every touch and every smile
Oh, you, you may not see it now
But I believe that time will tell
How you, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time

– Steven Curtis Chapman
3 responses

  1. Immediately something came to mind for my new role, which gives me purpose to what I now do all day (while my heart is longing to be with Charlotte) before and as I teach 2nd graders to read in my new job, I’ll pray that these children will grow with the ability and desire to read the Bible!

  2. I definitely struggle with these same feelings as a stay at home mom, especially now that I don’t work as a nurse anymore. For some reason, I felt more “important” when I could help strangers at the hospital, but not so much when I do the everyday things for my family. Thank you for this great reminder!

Leave a Reply

